Flash Fiction: Take Note


Take Note

The note, yellow and handwritten, read simply: ‘I’m upstairs with piles. Please don’t disturb me. I can’t be helped.’


The housemates heeded the note, following it to the T.


Four days later, she was stretchered out in a body bag; empty pill bottles scattered around her room.


She was never a very good speller.

Tagged , , , , , ,

Resumé by Dorothy Parker

Razors pain you;
Rivers are damp;
Acids stain you;
And drugs cause cramp.
Guns aren’t lawful;
Nooses give;
Gas smells awful;
You might as well live.
Tagged , , , , ,

A Word to Writers

Remember to keep your words sweet and tender; you never know when you will have to eat them.

Tagged , , , , , ,

The White Review Short Story Competition 2014

About The White Review Short Story Prize

The White Review Short Story Prize is an annual short story competition for emerging writers. Made possible by the generous support of the Jerwood Charitable Foundation in 2013, the prize awards £2,500 to the best piece of short fiction by a writer resident in the UK and Ireland who has yet to secure a publishing deal.

The judges will be looking for short stories that explore and expand the possibilities of the form. We encourage submissions from all literary genres, and there are no restrictions on theme or subject matter. We would only emphasise that the prize was founded to reward ambitious, imaginative and innovative approaches to creative writing.


In addition to the £2,500 prize, the winner will be published in a quarterly print issue of The White Review. Writers to have been published by The White Reviewinclude László Krasznahorkai, Peter Stamm, Joshua Cohen, César Aira, Deborah Levy, Francesco Pacifico, D. W. Wilson, Helen DeWitt, Federico Falco, K. J. Orr, Jesse Ball and many others.

The winner will have the chance to meet with jury member and literary agent Anna Webber to discuss their writing, plans for future work and possible routes to publication.

Shortlisted writers will have their work published online and receive feedback from the editors of The White Review.


We are delighted to have assembled a prestigious panel of judges to decide the award.

Kevin Barry is the author of the story collections Dark Lies The Island and There Are Little Kingdoms and the novel City Of Bohane. He has won the Impac Dublin City Literary Prize, the European Union Prize for Literature, and the Sunday Times EFG Private Bank Short Story Award. His stories have appeared in the New Yorker, the Granta Book of the Irish StoryTin House, and many other journals. He also works on screenplays and plays.

Max Porter is Senior Editor at Granta Books and Portobello Books. His authors include Ben Marcus, Eleanor Catton, Sarah Moss and Norman Rush.

Anna Webber is an agent at United Agents. She looks after David Szalay, Samantha Harvey, Alice Oswald and Sheila Heti among others.

In 2013, the inaugural White Review Short Story Prize was judged by novelist Deborah Levy, agent Karolina Sutton and editor Alex Bowler.


- The prize opens to submissions on 1 December 2013.

- Submissions will close on 1 March 2014. No entries will be considered if submitted after 1 March 2014 (12 noon GMT).

- A shortlist will be announced on 1 April 2014.

- The winner will be announced at a prize-giving ceremony in London in April 2014.

For more info visit:  http://www.thewhitereview.org/the-white-review-prize/ 


Tagged , , , , , , , ,

Davy Byrnes Short Story Award 2014

Ireland’s biggest short story competition.

€15,000 for the best short story plus five runner-up prizes of €1,000

Competition Judges: Anne Enright (right), Yiyun Li and Jon McGregor

Sponsored by Davy Byrnes and organised by The Stinging Fly in association with Dublin UNESCO City of Literature

—The competition is open to Irish citizens and to writers who are resident or were born in the thirty-two counties. Entries must consist of a previously unpublished short story written in English. The maximum word count is 15,000 words, no minimum. Only one story per entrant.

—We will be accepting entries from December 1st 2013. No online entries. Entries must be posted/delivered to Davy Byrnes Short Story Award, c/o Dublin UNESCO City of Literature, Dublin City Libraries, 138-144 Pearse Street, Dublin 2, Ireland.

—The deadline for receipt of entries is Monday Feb 3rd 2014. There is a €10 entry fee, payable online or by cheque/postal order.

—The six short-listed writers will be announced in late May/early June 2014 and the overall winner announced in June 2014.

For more info: http://www.stingingfly.org/content/davy-byrnes-short-story-award-2014

Tagged , , , , , , , ,

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 199 other followers